Use water sparingly as our district is currently faced with the drought.

Historical Background

The Mtubatuba Municipality (KZ275) is situated on the coastline of north-eastern Kwazulu-Natal. It is one of the five local municipalities within Umkhanyakude District.

Currentlu the municipality is estimated to have a total population of 143 908 and 24 440 households. The municipality has highest concentration of white people and is the most urbanised municipality within the Umkhanyakude District, comprising of Mtubatuba Town and St Lucia as it main towns. After May 2011 local government elections, the municipality comprises of 19 wards and covers approximately 1970 km in extent, compared to when the municipality had only 5 wards, this significant change in municipal size has serious implication in respect of profiling the municipality as a statistical data exists that covers the new municipality area.

Mtuba is the urban center of the municipal area and serves as the administrative head office of the Mtubatuba Municipality. To the westof Mtubatuba town are rural villages of Mpukunyoni Traditional Council (previously with Mtubatuba Municipality) administered by the ingonyama Trust Board; to the south-west lies KwaMsane Township; to the north-east of the Mtubatuba Town lies iSimangaliso Wetland Park; and is bordered by Mfolozi River to the South. St lucia town is a tourism and service center for the surrounding rural area of Mpukunyoni and a scenery belt serving the passing R618 trafic which links the Mtubatuba Town and St Lucia Town.

The town os St Lucia comprises subsistence farming and major nature conservation centers such as iSimangaliso Wetland Park (World Heritage Site), while the Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Park is the gateway to both Mtubatuba and Mtubatuba Town.

The eastern boundary excludes the former Mapelane Nature Reserve, reducing the municipality’s coastline to that between the Mfolozi Rive mouth in the south and the northern boundary of the former St Lucia lands. It should be noted that the municipality has no jurisdiction over the coastline as it falls within the proclaimed World Heritage Site, the iSimangaliso Wetland Park (Pack) and is generally managed by Ezemvelo/KZN Wildlife (Ezemvelo).

The National Road N2 traverses the municipal area linking the municipality with major centers such as Durban in the south and Mpumalanga Province and Swaziland to the north and Mozambique to the north-east.